QUINCY — In his first five seasons with the Danville Dans, manager Eric Coleman has seen his teams hit 112 home runs over that stretch — that's an average of 22.4 homers per season.

And those numbers are bolstered by a 40-homer season in 2017 and 33 a year ago.

This season is looking a little differently for the veteran manager.

On Sunday, the Danville Dans hit three home runs on the way to a 15-8 shellacking of the Hannibal Hoots at QU Stadium in Quincy. Not only did it extend the Dans win streak to three games, but the team has had at least two homers in each of those victories.

Albeit a small sample size, Danville is on a pace to hit 105 homers this season — almost as many as five previous Danville teams have hit.

Just like Saturday's win over Hannibal, Danville has an individual blast a pair of homers in the victory.

Catcher Craig Keuchel, a junior-to-be from Hill College, went 2-for-4 with those two home runs and his five RBIs were a team-high for season. Third baseman Ryan Archibald, a sophomore-to-be from Arizona, went 2-for-4 with his first homer of the year to go along with three run scored and three RBIs.

The Dans needed every bit of offense they could muster on Sunday.

Starting pitcher Jesse Wainscott struggled with his control, walking five and throwing three wild pitches as he surrendered four runs in 2.1 innings.

Reliever Joe Panella, earned the victory in spite of allowing four runs in 2.1 innings and he also had three wild pitches.

Ultimately, Cade Brown went the final 4.1 innings, allowing just one hit and no runs. Brown, who wasn't but should have been credited with a save, struck out seven of the 15 batters he faced.

The Danville Dans (3-1) will return to Danville Stadium tonight for a 6:30 p.m. contest against the Lafayette Aviators, who have started the season on a four game win streak.

Tonight's contest is also the first of eight Two-Buck Tuesdays this season at Danville Stadium. Admission for the contest is $2, while hot dogs will also cost $2 and it is just $2 for soda pops and Busch Light Beer.

Yankees selectformer Dan SS

Louisiana State shortstop Josh Smith, a member of the 2016 Danville Dans, was taken in the second round of Monday's MLB Draft by the New York Yankees.

Smith, who was the 76th-rated player by MLB Pipeline, is batting .346 with nine homers, 41 RBIs and 20 stolen bases this season for the Tigers, who have advance to the NCAA Super Regionals where LSU will host Florida State.

In his one season with the Dans, Smith batted .348 with two homers and 19 stolen bases.


Rice, Gardner on HOF Ballot

IRVING, Texas – Illinois Fighting Illini greats Moe Gardner and Simeon Rice are among the 76 players on the 2020 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame announced Monday by the National Football Foundation and the College Hall of Fame.

Currently, the Illini have 17 players that have been enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame with linebacker Dana Howard joining the list in 2018 as the latest.

The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today the names on the 2020 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, including two former Fighting Illini, 76 overall players and five coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 100 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks.

Illini greats Moe Gardner and Simeon Rice are among the 76 FBS greats on the ballot.

Seventeen former Illini are currently enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame, with Dana Howard most-recently joining the exclusive list in 2018. Howard joined 16 previously selected Fighting Illini in the hall of fame, including college football legends Red Grange (inducted 1951), Dick Butkus (inducted 1983) and David Williams (inducted 2005) | Illini CFB Hall of Fame bios.

The 2020 ballot was emailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Courts, which deliberate and select the class. The announcement of the 2020 Class will be made The announcement of the 2020 Class will be made in January 2020 in the days leading up to the College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship in New Orleans.