DANVILLE – Filings started with a busy day Monday on the first day candidates for elected county positions could submit paperwork to run in the spring 2020 election.


• Auditor: Mary Techtow and Erika Briggs, both Republican. They both filed at 8 a.m. Monday so a lottery will be needed to determine name placement on the ballot.

• Circuit Clerk: Melissa Quick, Republican.

• Coroner: Incumbent Jane C. McFadden, Republican.

• Recorder of Deeds: Incumbent Dave Stone, Republican.

• State’s Attorney: Incumbent Jacqueline M. Lacy, Republican.

• County Board District 1: Incumbent Joel L. Bird, Republican.

• County Board District 2: Incumbents Charles D. Mockbee III and Kevin Gail Green. Both are Republicans and they filed at the same time at 8 a.m. Monday. A lottery will take place for name placement on the ballot.

• County Board District 3: Shelley McLain, Republican.

• County Board District 4: Incumbents Robert Mitch Weaver and Marla Mackiewicz, both Republican. A lottery will be needed.

• County Board District 6: Mary Ellen Surprenant, Republican.

• County Board District 8: Incumbent Nancy O'Kane, Democrat.

• County Board District 9: Incumbent Becky A. Stark, Democrat.

Petition packets must be filed by 5 p.m. Dec. 2.

Petition packets for candidates who wish to run in the General Primary Election on March 17, 2020, can be picked up between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Vermilion County Clerk’s office. The office is in the Vermilion County Administration Building, 201 N. Vermilion St.

Federal, state and judicial offices also will be on the ballot.

The candidate who receives the highest vote total in each political party for each office in the primary will be on the Nov. 3, 2020, general election ballot.

Recommended for you