The Commercial-News, Danville, IL

December 18, 2013

Bearcats rally to win Watseka Tournament title

The Commercial-News

---- — WATSEKA — Jeff Cann had 17 points as the Milford boys basketball team defeated Hoopeston Area 43-35 to win the Watseka Holiday Tournament on Tuesday.

Alex Portwood had 16 points for the Bearcats, who were down 20-14 at halftime but tied things up at 30-30 after the third quarter and would outscore the Cornjerkers 13-5 in the fourth quarter, while Jacob Rogers had six and Wade Fox added four.

Brennan Crose led Hoopeston Area with 14 points while Daniel Lawson had seven and Mason Layden and Trey Layden each had four.

Cann, Protwood and Layden were also named to the All-Tournament team.

The Cornjerkers will play Bismarck-Henning today.

St. Joe Ogden 63, Westville 49

ST. JOSEPH — Jeffery Thompson had 17 points as the Tigers did better in a rematch from last week with the Spartans at the Leader Classic.

Justin Ottino had 10 points for Westville, who was down 47-29 after the third quarter but scored 20 in the fourth quarter, while Dalton Hilligoss and Kyle Brazas each had six and Ladavion Severado added five points.

The Tigers continue play at the Classic today against Fisher.


Covington 49 South Vermillion 28

CLINTON, Ind. — Avery Chezem had 23 points as the Trojans cruised past South Vermillion.

Andi Tayloer had eight points for Covington, who jumped out to a 27-10 halftime lead and a 41-14 lead after the third quarter, while Macie Cooper had six and Regan Foster and Kendra Wallace each had four.

The Trojans are 6-3 and will play Turkey Run on Thursday.

Seeger 54, Rockville 33

ROCKVILLE, Ind. — Miranda Synesael had 15 points as the Patriots beat the Rox in Wabash River Conference action.

Morgan Rademacher had 12 points for Seeger, while Hannah Gustus had 10 and Patience Darling added six.

The Patriots host Clinton Central on Thursday.


Central 128, Danville 57

CHAMPAIGN — Tristan Wolfe won the 100 freestyle (53.29 seconds) and the 100 backstroke (1:02.99) but the Vikings lost to the Maroons.

Jordan Ledesma won the diving event (151.00) and was third int he 200 freestyle (2:22.84) for Danville while Lucas Miller was second in the 100 breaststroke (1:10.78) and was third in the 50 freestyle (25.19).

The Vikings will travel to Bloomington on Saturday for the Raider Invitational.

Seeger 80, Fountain Central 73

VEEDERSBURG, Ind. — Issac Hunter won the 200 individual medley (2 minutes, 22.74 seconds) and the 100 breaststroke (1:13.03) as the Patriots pulled off the close win over the Mustangs.

Jayson Smith won the 200 freestyle (2:07.84) and the 100 freestyle (54.54) for Seeger, while Solomon Hunter won the 500 freestyle (6:03.01).

Joe Nine won the 50 freestyle (23.35) and the 100 butterfly (59.63) for Fountain Central, while Kale Freeman won the diving (151.30) and Nick Hall won the 100 backstroke (1:09.61).

The Mustangs also won the 200 medley (2:04.79) and 200 freestyle (1:52.08) relays while the Patriots took the 400 freestyle relay (4:12.79).


Fountain Central 110, Seeger 75

VEEDERSBURG, Ind. — Shelby Gulley won the 200 freestyle (2:14.82) and the 500 freestyle (6:11.24) while Clare McGrady took the 100 freestyle (58.36) and teh 100 breaststroke (1:14.99) as the Mustangs beat the Patriots.

Haley Gibbs won the 200 individual medley for Fountain Central (2:38.61) while Hannah Gayler took the 100 backstroke (1:11.98). The Mustangs also won the 200 medley (2:05.20 and 200 freestyle *1:53.84) relays.

Becca Haussin won the 50 freestyle (26.67) and 100 butterfly (1:03) for Seeger whle Emily Baroff won in diving (136.65) and the 400 freestyle relay team (4:18.85) also won.


Fountain Central 54, Bis-Henn 33

VEEDERSBURG, Ind. — The Mustangs’ full roster was the key as they picked up five forfeits to defeat the Blue Devils.

Caleb Phillips (113 pounds), Brian Tucker (120), Jaren Oakley (126), Coagan Bane (170) and Alex Cloud (220) each won by forfeit for Fountain Central.

Laine Frazee (132), Trevor Loveall (160) and Alex Fay (285) won by pin for the Mustangs.

Devin Cartwright (106), Tyler Pasley (145), Dakota Akins (152), Jarod Noel (182) and Whalen Rockwell (195) each won by pin for Bismarck-Henning while Gage Foster (138) won by decision.

The Mustangs are 5-2 in dual meets will wrestle at the Caston Duals on Saturday.

Seeger 48, Benton Central 30

WEST LEBANON, Ind. — Harley Steele (106 pounds), Quentin Johnosn (113), Jordan Horath (152), Jack Kay (170) and Chance Billingsley (220) each won by pin as the Patriots defeated Benton Central.

Jacob Ferrar (138) and Caleb Hanthorne (132) each won by decision for Seeger while Devon Atkins (120) and Evan Potts (285) each won by forfeit.

The Patriots are 5-2 and will host the Seeger Invitational on Saturday.


Quincy Blessed Sacrament 30,Danville Oakwood 20

WARRENSBURG — Kylie Newman had 11 points, but the Knights could not get past Quincy Blessed Sacrament in the quarterfinals of the IESA eighth grade Class 3A tournament.

Breann Durst had seven points for Oakwood, who had a 8-4 first quarter lead and was tied at 15 at halftime, while Shaelyn Turner added two.

The Knights end the season at 19-5.