DANVILLE — The North Ridge Theatre Company will present "Mary Poppins Jr." this week in the North Ridge Middle School cafetorium.

Two performances, both starting at 7 p.m., are set for Thursday and Friday. Tickets are $5 for all ages and will be available at the door. Doors will open at 6:30 p.m.

"Mary Poppins" is one of the most popular Disney movies of all time, and "Mary Poppins Jr." is capturing hearts in a whole new way: As a practically perfect musical. Based on the books by P.L. Travers and the classic Walt Disney film, Disney and Cameron Mackintosh’s Mary Poppins Jr. has played to Broadway audiences for more than 2,500 performances and received nominations for nine Olivier and seven Tony awards, including Best Musical.

The jack-of-all trades Bert, portrayed by Cory Talbott, introduces the audience to England in 1910 and the troubled Banks family. Allison Thompson, who portrays Young Jane, and Terryan White, who portrays Michael, have sent many a nanny packing before Mary Poppins, portrayed by Laynie Ferriman, arrives on their doorstep.

Using a combination of magic and common sense, Poppins must teach the family members how to value each other again. Poppins takes the children on many magical and memorable adventures, but Jane and Michael aren't the only ones upon whom she has a profound effect. Even grownups can learn a lesson or two from the nanny who advises that “anything can happen if you let it.”

Rounding out the principal cast are Thomas Strain as George Banks, Delanie Robinson as Winifred Banks, Abby Strain as Mrs. Brill, Jerry Strain as Robertson Ay, Ellis Mansfield as Mrs. Cory, Brianna Webster as the Bird Woman, Dax Lara as Miss Andrew, Stephen Garrison as Neleus/Chairman, Jacob Fox as Von Hussler, Dharmik Owen as John Northbrook and Polly Norton as Katie Nana/Miss Smythe.

Ensemble members include Lexie Adams, Ellie Bergeron, Ian Borcz, Jayden Brown, Kaitlyn Curtis, Landyn Ford, Amelia Ingold, Madie Rhodes, Alexis Sadler, Thaddeus Serrano, Quentin Shelato, Donald Shumard, Andley Sovine, Evelyne Sproluck, Theory Steen, Makenzie Wells, Zoe Wilson, Malia Wolfe and Naomie Young.