The Commercial-News, Danville, IL

March 4, 2013

4 schools receive library grants

1.7M students to benefit statewide


DANVILLE — Four Vermilion County school districts have been awarded fiscal year 2013 school district library program grants from Secretary of State and State Librarian Jesse White.

The local school districts and the amount of the grant awarded are as follows: Bismarck-Henning Community Unit School District 1, $735.50; Chrisman Community Unit School District 6 of Edgar County, $735.50; Oakwood Community Unit School District 76, $763.50; and Westville Community Unit School District 2, $832.50.

Statewide, the grants totaled almost $1.4 million and went to 642 Illinois public school districts. Nearly 1.7 million students served by school library media programs will benefit from the grants.

“As a former public school teacher and administrator, I know our school libraries are so important in helping students learn and prepare themselves for the future,” White said in a press release.

“Several studies in recent years have shown that students perform better in the classroom in school districts that have strong library media programs. Illinois was the first state to implement a school district grant program, and I’m pleased that we can continue to provide school libraries with some of the financial resources they need to produce well-educated students,” he added.

Grants were awarded based on a formula of 75 cents per student, with a minimum grant award of $735.50. The school district library grant program provides funds that can be used for the acquisition of library materials to support reading for academics and enjoyment, library subscriptions to electronic resources or improved technology to support student research.