The Commercial-News, Danville, IL

February 11, 2012

Races set for May 8 Indiana primary


COVINGTON, Ind. — All three western Indiana counties will see primary races in May.

Republicans in Fountain and Warren counties will choose candidates in each county’s two commissioner districts, while Fountain Republicans will choose between an incumbent and challenger for coroner.

Vermillion County Democrats have a crowded race for council at-large and coroner.

The deadline to file was noon Friday.

“Candidates have until noon Monday to withdraw,” said Patty Gritten, Fountain County clerk.

Political parties can slate a candidate where there are no candidates in their party after the primary. Unlike the municipal elections last year, unopposed candidates will be on the ballot.

Fountain County

Three candidates for council at-large seats filed this week.

Incumbent Thomas W. Freas and challenger Billy D. Glover filed as Republicans, joining incumbent Joe Whittington on the ballot for three seats.

Challenger Thomas J. Golia joined incumbent Thomas W. Booe on the Democrat ballot for council at-large.

Republican Bradley H. Summers signed up this week against incumbent Joe Gritten for coroner.

Republicans will have a choice in both commissioner races. Willard L. Askren and Craig Stalter seek the first district seat being vacated by Janet Shoaf, and incumbent Walt Wilson is being challenged by Don Hesler in the second district.

Unopposed are Republicans Colleen Chambers, treasurer, and Brenda Hardy, auditor.

Warren County

The race for the nomination for commissioner, first district seat, has become a little more crowded. Dave “Meathead” Mitton filed this week against incumbent Anton “Tony” Briles in the first district.

Incumbent Thomas A. Hetrick and challenger Ronald Haddock are running in the second district.

Filing for county council at-large were incumbent Democrat Richard R. “Dick” Dobbles, Republican George Taylor and Republican newcomer Eric Shideler.

Incumbent treasurer Robin Weston-Hubner and incumbent surveyor Randy Haddock are unopposed in the Republican primary.

Vermillion County

Vermillion County Democrats will have to choose candidates for three council at-large seats and for surveyor and coroner.

Incumbent councilman Randy Paddish and challengers Jill Wesch and Bill Bybee filed this week, joining incumbents Mike Costello and Lavonna Mattick and challengers Robert S. Lindsey Jr. and Malisa Carty.

Lisa Gilman filed as a Democrat for surveyor against Jared Dreher.

Democrats running for coroner are Charles Procarione, He joins Roger P. Lewis and Brian Morris.

Unopposed Democrats are Tim Wilson, commissioner, third district; Florinda Pruitt, clerk; Bruce Stengel, judge; Wendy Farley, treasurer; Phyllis Orman, auditor; and Harry Crossley, commissioner.

The only Republicans on the primary ballot are Greg Meyer for commissioner, first district, and Matthew Fitzhum for coroner.

Primary election

The primary election will be from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. EDT May 8.