The Commercial-News, Danville, IL

April 11, 2013

Write-in candidate wins mayoral race in Georgetown


DANVILLE — A write-in campaign proved successful in the race for mayor of Georgetown.

Mayoral incumbent David Lucas was defeated in Tuesday’s election, ousted as the result of a write-in campaign put together by challenger and Ward 3 alderwoman Kay Sanders.

As the only candidate listed on the ballot, the unofficial vote count for Lucas was listed at 353 votes as of Wednesday morning. But after write-in votes were counted, Sanders had received more support with an unofficial total of 439 votes as of Wednesday.

Sanders said she kept hearing that write-ins can’t win. She credited her voter support to a good team of workers.

“You don’t expect to lose and you work very hard and do the best you can do,” she said. “You just go from there.”

According to the Vermilion County Clerk’s Office, the vote totals collected in Tuesday’s election remain unofficial until April 30. According to the clerk’s office, it will count any write-in votes, late-arriving absentees and provisional ballots that are postmarked by midnight April 8.

Sanders is following in the footsteps of her husband, Joe Sanders. He served as mayor for the city of Georgetown in the mid to late 1980s.

Georgetown had the only upset among the county’s larger communities. In Hoopeston, incumbent Bill Cruisenberry won out over challenger Jeramy Dobkins, 696-204, while Tilton Mayor David Phillips was returned to office as voters picked the incumbent with 407 votes over challengers Todd Schultz, 84 votes, and John Croswell, 33 votes.

In Georgetown’s city clerk race, Tracy Isaacson defeated Jeri Nale, 483-291. In Ward 2, unofficial totals had Carl Lee Johnson with 89 votes and Tom Seilhymer with 80. In Ward 3, unofficial totals had Wilma Wilming defeating Keith Walker, 129-107. For the city’s alderman race in Ward 4, Tim Waterman received 65 votes in his defeat of incumbent Kimberly Shrout, 24 votes, and Robert Weaver’s 27 votes.

In Hoopeston’s contested alderman race, Carl Ankenbrand defeated Charles Strawser, 118-43.

For Ridge Farm, voters elected Sharon Simmons as village president over Rick Pollard, 123-33. Hanna Romoser was elected village clerk, receiving 104 votes to 45 votes for Jennie I. Sollars.

In the race for three trustee seats in the village of Tilton, Conrad “Dutch” Wantland, 383; Judith Barrett, 348; and Jerry Bennett, 263, were the top three vote getters.

In Westville, voters opted for incumbent Michael A. Weese as mayor, casting 444 votes in his favor. Challengers Jeff Ellis and Bill Cottrell, received 202 and 205 votes respectively.

The list of eight candidates was pared down to winners for the three available seats: Don Hall, 477; Mark Dunham, 321; and Dena Jenkins, 312. Other candidates were Rick Jones, 285; John “Rusty” Golden, 260; James Ceader, 206.

For Westville’s school district, voters selected three board members for four-year terms: LeAnn Gallion, 677; Shawn Bennet, 672; and Michael Acord, 621. The trio was chose over fellow candidates Timothy Jenkins, 528, and David Parker, 364.

Georgetown-Ridge Farm voters also chose three members for new terms on the school board: Phil Hummel, 912; Carla Pollman, 864; and Diane Dawson, 604. Others on the ballot were Mindy Herrin, 514, and Theresa Bogard, 463.