The Commercial-News, Danville, IL

December 27, 2012

D118 ballot includes 9 candidates


DANVILLE — Nine people will be in the contest for four seats on the Danville School District 118 board during the April 9 election.

Six people filed their nominating petitions Dec. 17, the first day to file. They are: Johnnie Carey, Darlene Halloran, Lon Henderson, incumbent Greg Hilleary, Phyllis Roth and David Woodrow.

Three more people — all incumbents — filed by the deadline on Wednesday. They are Dr. Randal Ashton, Dan Brown and Frank Young.

Eleven people altogether had showed interest in running for the school board and picked up petitions. The two people who did not turn in petitions are Michael Luzenske and Judd Peck.

The school board has four seats to be filled during the upcoming April 9 election. The terms that are expiring are for Dr. Ashton, Brown, Hilleary and Young. Those four vacancies are full terms of four years each.

Objections to petitions need to be filed between Dec. 27 and Jan. 3 in the superintendent’s office.

Candidates’ names will appear on the election ballot in the order in which their nominating papers are received in the school board secretary’s office.

Since District 118 will be closed for winter break during part of the objection period, the superintendent’s office will be open for limited hours between now and Jan. 2.

The office hours are as follows: 10 a.m. to noon Friday and Monday; office closed Jan. 1; 8 a.m. to noon Jan. 2, with a lottery drawing at 10 a.m.; and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Jan. 3.