The Commercial-News, Danville, IL

February 26, 2014

County board member resigns

Nightlinger moves out of District 5

The Commercial-News

---- — DANVILLE — A longtime member of the Vermilion County Board announced he is resigning his post.

Orick “Corky” Nightlinger, 79, of Tilton made the announcement via a press release issued Tuesday morning by the Vermilion County Democratic Party.

The decision comes as a result of Nightlinger moving out of District 5 and into another district, eliminating his eligibility to represent District 5.

“I enjoyed my years on the board and look back with pride in my efforts to keep the Vermilion County Nursing Home open for our senior citizens,” Nightlinger said.

In an interview Tuesday afternoon, Nightlinger said it wasn’t a tough decision. He turned in his resignation to Vermilion County Board Chairman Gary Weinard on Feb. 11 and Nightlinger’s last day is Friday.

The resignation ends a tenure of a little more than ten years on the Vermilion County Board for Nightlinger.

“I’ve been on there since July 8, 2003, and I‘m kind of ready to go,” he said.

Only 10 other current board members served on the board longer.

“It is time I pass the torch on to another to carry on,” he indicated.

As part of his service, Nightlinger served on the board’s nursing home committee, including acting as chairman of the committee for six years. It was an important issue to him and the sale of the county-owned nursing home in August was “devastating,” he said.

“My big concern was the nursing home,” he said. “In the end, I had to vote to sell it when I didn’t want to.”

Nightlinger’s announcement reduces the field of Democratic candidates running for two open county board seats in District 5. Remaining in the primary race are incumbent John Criswell of Tilton, newcomer Chad Turner of Danville and former board member Robert “Jim” Watson of Tilton.

In his announcement, Nightlinger indicated his decision was made after the deadline to withdraw from the race, leaving his name on the ballot.

He asked that his supporters vote for any of the three Democrats who remain in the race.

The primary election is scheduled for March 18.