The Commercial-News, Danville, IL

March 20, 2014

Hoopeston Area, Schlarman form football co-op


HOOPESTON — Hoopeston Area school board members unanimously approved the agreement Tuesday between Hoopeston Area High School and Schlarman Academy for a two-year football co-op.

Michl Kearney will take the position as head coach, with Schlarman providing an assistant coach from its coaching staff. The combined team will sport new jerseys, said district director Kevin Root, but will remain known as the Hoopeston Area Cornjerkers. He added both squads of cheerleaders will be leading cheers for the team during different quarters with the Hoopeston Area marching band playing at all games. Practices will be in Hoopeston.

During the 2014-2015 school year, Schlarman will host two home games to include senior night and homecoming. Hoopeston will host three to include the same. The 2015-2016 year of the co-op, Schlarman will host one game and Hoopeston will host the rest, according to Root. Root added that about 50 students from both schools will play football in the co-op.

In other school board business, the summer migrant program was approved unanimously.

"The board approved a summer migrant program at a cost of $19,850," said Superintendent Hank Hornbeck. "However, we will not be hosting it at Hoopeston this year. The cost of the program is for transportation to Indiana, a bus driver and a recruiter."

+ The Tri-Party Deactivation Agreement with Rossville-Alvin and Bismarck-Henning was approved unanimously for the 2014-2015 school year. Also approved was the Honeywell BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) Pilot Program Policy, the IESA and the IHSA for 2014-2015.

+ Board members approved an intent to retire request from Esther Bundy-Pfefferle at the end of the 2015-2016 school year; hired Scotland Vogel, a 1994 Hoopeston graduate, as the middle school dean of students and district athletic director for the 2014-2015 school year; and Darrin Martin as volunteer coach for the 2014 spring high school softball team. Board members also approved resignations from teachers Kristen Baldwin, Kara Eisenmann, and Jodi Koester and the immediate resignations of Clinton Mathewson and Eric Zorns as high school girls' basketball coach and assistant coach.

+ Approved the re-employment of certified, non-tenured teachers, building principals, Tim Hillard, Mark Eighner, Rodney Comstock and Curt Spaur for the 2014-2015 school year.

+ Learned the Golden Ruler Awards will begin at 6 p.m. April 24 at Bismarck. Those honored from Hoopeston are Lisa Mann, Nancy Konieczki, Debi Lankford and Kathy Neal.

The next Hoopeston Area school board meeting will begin at 6:30 p.m. April 17 in the high school library.